Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series gets underway with the Silver Cup

Silver Cup starts 24th January, 2020

Al Habtoor Polo Resort has announced the dates for the 2020 Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series. Fans of the sport are in for a treat as the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series is one of only five tournaments globally which is played in the WPT Championship Cup category – a series on par with the very best held in Argentina, Spain, the United Kingdom and United States.

Five tournaments fall under the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series: The Silver Cup (18 goal handicap), which will run from January 24 to February 7 and see six teams battling it out on the glorious polo fields of the Al Habtoor Polo Resort.

Confirmed teams for the Silver Cup are; the AM Polo Team (Patron: Sheikha Alya Al Maktoum), the Dubai Wolves (Patron: Habtoor Al Habtoor), the Ghantoot Polo Team (Patron: HH Sheikh Falah Bin Zayed Al Nahyan), the Habtoor Polo Team (Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor), the UAE Polo Team (Patron: HH Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum) and the Zedan Polo Team (Patron: Amr Zedan).

Other fixtures to be held in the series are Polo Masters Cup (6-8 goal handicap) on the 10th to 12th February 2020, the Standard Chartered Gold Cup (18-goal handicap) from 16th February to the 6th of March, the Dubai Challenge Cup (10-goal handicap) from 14 to 21 March; and Dubai Cup (6-8 goal handicap) from 1 to 10 April 2020.

Aside from the sport, there is a host of other activities to enjoy between chukkas. There is as a dedicated kids zone with fun activities, a shopping village, a spectacular fashion show, music by international DJ’s, and much more.

Across the event, spectators are encouraged to enjoy the lush lawns and can bring their own picnic, however alcoholic beverages from outside the grounds are not permitted. Bookings can be made with Habtoor to secure a four, or eight-man gazebo if needed, as well as avail of their in-house picnic hampers.

If, however, you are looking to supersize your polo experience, there are also Gold and Silver Lounge table packages on the says of the Silver and Gold Cups respectively. There is also a fully comped VIP package for those seeking a truly exclusive experience.

General admission is free on all matches scheduled during the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series except on finals of the Silver Cup 2020, 7th of February and Standard Chartered Gold Cup 2020, 6th of March 2020.

Silver Cup over 10 years